Identifying food additives
It can be difficult to determine if some types of additives are derived from animals or not. This is because it all depends on how the additive has been manufactured in the first place. In Europe and Australia food additives are listed by a labelling system called "E Numbers". However, the use of E Numbers on ingredients lists has become unfashionable, particularly in the UK. This is because the representation of E Numbers tend to be associated with the negative health affects on the consumer. Psycologically, it seems that printing out the full name of the additive (even though the additve names themselves seem completly "foreign" and unpronouncable!), gives the consumer more confidence about their purchase.
Below is a list of additives arranged by their E Numbers, which either always contain animals or those which sometimes may - depending on how the additive was sourced to begin with. All other E Numbers not listed here are to the best of our knowledge always vegetarian.
NOTE for US and non E Number countries: If you would prefer to read a table with just the additive names in alphabetical order (no E Numbers) then
Red background indicates additives which are always derived from animals. Those in grey boxes are additives, which could be made from either animal or vegetable origins; in which case the grey area additives should be treated with caution. Some of the grey area additives also give an indicator that they may be unsuitable for vegans.
If a food or beauty product is not clearly labelled get in touch with them and ask questions - make a fuss!
|E Number||Additive Name|
Cochineal, Carminic acid, Carmines Natural Red 4 - colouring
A colouring that makes many foods red. Found in alcoholic drinks, fruit pie fillings, jams, many sweets and even cheeses. Cochineal is made from the female insect found on cacti called Dactylopius Coccus. She is boiled alive or left to "cook" alive through sun exposure. Cochineal is the result of crushing scales of the insect into a red powder.
Carbon Black, Vegetable Carbons - colouring
NOW Foods Flush Free Niacin Double Strength, 500mg, 90-Vegetarian Capsules
Health and Beauty (NOW Foods)
You might also like:
Humans can't eat raw vegetables2006-12-19 08:51:50 by -
Look at vegetarian animals like cows and horses - they have several huge stomachs. No mammal can consume energy stored in plant fiber, bacteria in the gut consumes it and glucose is a bi-product, along with all sorts of gas. Vegetarian animals have several large stomachs that regulate this pressure, whereas non-vegetarian animals do not have this ability.
If you want to eat raw food, stick with fruits which are much lower in fiber and have a much higher sugar composition. Peel apples, and juice oranges. Stick with melons and banans which are low in fiber.
If you're trying to eat lots of fiber to get regular, avoid constipating foods that contain opioid peptides like wheat, barley, and oats as well as all dairy products
Harmony House Foods Soup Mix, Dried Vegetable, 12 Ounce Quart Size Jar
Grocery (Harmony House Foods, Inc.)
Natural Balance Vegetarian Formula Dog Food, 28-Pound Bag
Pet Products (Natural Balance)
The Gluten-Free Vegan: 150 Delicious Gluten-Free, Animal-Free Recipes
Book (Da Capo Press)
NOW Solutions Glycerine Vegetable, 16-Fluid Ounces
Health and Beauty (NOW Foods)